Home You are here : path  Products path Personal path RRB

image    Regional Rural Bank (RRB)

Regional Rural Banks were established under the provisions of an Ordinance passed on 26 September 1975 and the RRB Act 1987 to provide sufficient banking and credit facility for agriculture and other rural sectors. Regional Rural Banks (RRB) are Indian Scheduled Commercial Banks ( Government Banks) operating at regional level in different states of India. They have been created with a view of serving primarily the rural areas of India with basic banking and financial services. However, RRBs may have branches set up for urban operations and their area of operation may include urban area too.

The area of operation of RRBs is limited to the area as notified by Government of India covering one or more districts in the State. RRBs perform various functions in following heads:

  • Providing banking facilities to rural and semi –urban areas.
  • Carrying out government operations like disbursement of wages of MGNREGA workers, distribution of pension etc.
  • Providing Para-Banking facilities like locker facilities, debit and credit cards, mobile banking, internet banking, UPI etc.
Our Bank has sponsored one Regional Rural Bank namely Chaitanya Godavari GrameenaBank(CGGB) having its Head Office in Guntur. The operation area of the Bank is spread across Guntur, East Godavari and West Godavari Districts in Andhra Pradesh State.
CGGB is having the network of 220 branches and one extension counter. All Branches of the Bank are under CBS.

CGGB has secured following Awards under IBA Banking Technology Awards 2020:

  • Joint Runner up under “Best Digital Financial Inclusion Initiatives”
  • Certificate of Appreciation under “Best Technology Bank of the Year”